mylittleplaceinspace

First Day of Winter….Wait, I Mean Autumn

on September 26, 2012

Today I woke up to snow covering everything is site. I had to remind myself it was September 22nd and not December 22nd. In fact, Liam told Killian it was almost his birthday because it snowed, Killian’s birthday is Christmas Eve. Liam added that he was going outside and if Santa came while he was gone to make sure no one opened his presents 🙂

On my walk with Gaia this morning snow flurries were coming down and it was beautiful. When I stopped to listen though, it was not the silence of a winter’s snow I heard but the sound of rain. The snow was melting off the trees and raining down to the ground. The sound was a such a contrast to what I was seeing. It was wonderful and yet I knew it would all be gone shortly.

By the time I was done with my walk many of the leaves showed their colors again. By the afternoon the snow was gone and autumn had returned.

As surprising and beautiful all of the snow was I am glad it melted away. I am not quite ready for winter yet.


One response to “First Day of Winter….Wait, I Mean Autumn

  1. Auntie Carolyn says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a comment

Eclectic Lamb

Fun Vegetarian Lunches