mylittleplaceinspace

My Lantern

on September 26, 2012

My lantern, my lantern,

Sun and moon and starlight.

My lantern, my lantern,

Sun and moon and starlight.

In the darkened heavens high

No light shines within the sky.

Darkened is my path this night,

My lantern shines to give me light.

Last week we made tin can lanterns with our homeschool group. Everyone had a great time, but who can go wrong with hammers.

We started with cans and filled them with water. We let them freeze over night and then we were ready to hammer. We used nails to make holes in the can, remembering to put two near the top for the handle. Next we put wire through the top holes and used a pliers to secure them. Viola, a lantern!

Later that evening me and the kids went on a lantern walk down the block and into the woods on the empty lots across from us.


They wanted to stay out forever but eventually the candles went out. The lanterns were telling us it was time to turn in. We walked home by the light of the moon, which was almost as nice as our lanterns.

Leave a Reply

Eclectic Lamb

Somewhat Healthy Cute Vegetarian Lunches

Frugally Sustainable

A Resource for All Things Frugal and Sustainable

