mylittleplaceinspace

Michaelmas

on September 28, 2012

In autumn St. Michael with sword and with shield

Travels over meadow, and orchard, and field.

He’s on the path to battle darkness and strife

He’s our heavenly warrior defender of life. 

Michaelmas,  or the Feast Day of Saint Michael, is celebrated on September 29th as a harvest festival and a festival of strong will. Michael is known for defeating Lucifer in the battle of heaven and is known as a protector during the dark time of year. To me this day represents the ability to  find my inner strength to be able to work though hard things. Micheal also represent my confidence, determination, and bravery  to set out on new paths. This year my new path has been to begin this blog and work on crafting for things to come. On Michaelmas I am also reminded that when the path I have chosen is difficult it does not mean I should turn around and run away but move forward through the gloom and find the sun again. I look forward to the inner energy I feel at this time of year.

For the kids we talk about how Saint Michael can help us be brave when we are scared or strong when we are weak. We started with the story of  Saint George and the Dragon, I used the Saint George story in The Book of Dragons as inspiration and we laid out a story scene to accompany the story. The kids took turns acting out the story by playing the parts of the dragon or Saint George.

After acting out the story, Killian wrote a short summary in his lesson book. I have also been reading the Michaelmas chapters out of The Festival of Stones: Autumn and Winter Tales of Tiptoes Lightly. This is a wonderful book and he has other stories in this series that my kids just love.

This week we also made dragon bread. Here is a picture of our dragon bread ready to go in the oven. I was going to do raisins and nuts to decorate but forgot to buy nuts at the store, so we used frosting, sprinkles, and coconut instead. They turned out pretty good.

We also painted dragons, here is our work in progress.

This is Killian’s painting of the dragon, mine is the second one. I have found doing my own project while the kids do there’s keeps them on task and they are more likely to take their time.

On Saturday, Michaelmas Day, I will be telling a Saint Micheal story from All Year Round. As I tell the story we make a harvest bread loaf. Then we will journey forth bursting with energy and full of brave deeds.

Leave a Reply

Eclectic Lamb

Somewhat Healthy Cute Vegetarian Lunches

Frugally Sustainable

A Resource for All Things Frugal and Sustainable

