mylittleplaceinspace

Fresh Start on Project Simplify

on December 12, 2012

Well today I am going to talk about a project I have been working on for the last year, unsuccessfully at that! I have been working on simplifying our things. To remove all of the things in our home that we do not need to be able to find the things I want quickly and have space to do the things we want to do. I have went through every room in our house at least three times this year, including the basement. Many things have left our home through rummage sales, donations, passing along to friends, recycling and of course the garbage. Yet when I look at the basement I still see to much. I clean it up so it looks spacious and then within the week I cannot even get to the shelves on the walls or find what I need. Grrrr, I am so tired of it. I know some of this is my problem with putting things back but there is still just to much stuff! So I decided to start fresh with the basement.

Now we have two sides to our basement. There is my craft room and general storage area and then there is the kids playroom. So are you ready to see the picture of the craft/storage room. Here goes.

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

Ahhh, look at that! All of that space to walk and breathe and think. I decided to take everything out of this room to start completely over. I found that it was hard to really reorganize the shelves with stuff till on them. Now I am ready to move things to different shelves and I can see more clearly where things will go. But you are probably wondering where all of the stuff is now. Well the kids playroom of course, ready to see that.

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

Ahhhhhh! This is not even all of it, I couldn’t get it all in the picture! Anyone else scared? Because I am! Well I guess it is time to get to work. Not all of this will make it back into the other room. Some will be donated, sold, or passed on (watch out, some of this may be coming to your house.)

But this time I have a new plan, I have made some goals for what I want that room to be. Here they are

1. Store off season things.

2. Store keepsake items.

3. Store homeschool stuff.

4. Store craft stuff.

5. Be able to craft with enough space to breathe

6. Be a place for the kids to come and hang out while I work

These seem like obvious goal but I seemed to be storing stuff with none of these purposes including things that were to go to the garbage or recycling. So now I have a clear space and room to visualize what I really want this room to be. I will show some updates as I work through this and the follow up of how I will keep it clean 🙂 Now, time for work!

2 responses to “Fresh Start on Project Simplify

  1. Best of luck in your endeavors! I was in my craft storage area (not enough room to work, just to store) the other day and wondered where all the crap came from. I’m thinking it’s not worth my time and energy to consign the pile of stuff I set aside for consigning, I’ll just donate it instead. That will free up some space *and* energy!

    • emilyrconner says:

      I know what you mean about the time and energy to consign things or put them on Craig’s List to sell. I have a few things that I would like to sell but I don’t know if the money will be worth the effort. We shall see if I sell it or just get rid of it all and enjoy the space now. I have put a few things back on the shelves and it still is looking good in my craft room. I feel like a lot of things will be going this time to make the space what I want. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

Eclectic Lamb

Somewhat Healthy Cute Vegetarian Lunches

Frugally Sustainable

A Resource for All Things Frugal and Sustainable

