mylittleplaceinspace

What is Enough?

on January 17, 2013

Simplicity is making the journey of this life with just baggage enough.” — Charles Dudley Warner

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

As I was putting clothes away in Liam’s closet, I realized how many clothes he actually has.  I looked through all of the clothes and thought about where they had all come from. Most came as hand me downs from Killian, some came from other friends with older boys, some came from rummage sales that I couldn’t pass up because they were just too cute. But really, how much is enough? How many clothes does a three year old boy need? Well, that is a hard question to answer exactly but I know it is less then he has in his closet right now.

So today I made piles of all of the pants, all of the short sleeve shirts, all of the underwear, etc…Then I took out any clothes I knew we were done with to send to the resale store. Next I found all of the summer shorts and most of the t-shirts to put in the basement until later. I went through what was left to narrow down how many pieces would make it back into the closet. I looked at the 15 pairs of pants and narrowed them down to 7. I chose 7 because that is at least one a day and I know there are some in the laundry basket right now. So really, there will be more than 7. The left overs I put into the basement pile. I didn’t want to get rid of them completely until I know we really have the right amount. I did this with each pile and now the three piles below are leaving Liam’s room.

 

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

This picture shows the clothes that will be going back into the closet. I think it may still be too many.

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

After taking the next picture, the closet is looking good. I feel like he has enough clothes and now he does has less too look through.

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

 

I am also hoping that by downsizing the amount of clothes in Liam’s closet, and soon Killian’s and Delaney’s,  I will reduce the amount of laundry I have to do. Less clothes means less in the laundry pile, right?  I know I will be washing the same things more often but there will not be enough to form a gigantic pile if I get behind. I think the other question is if I do get behind will the kids run out clothes? Hmmm….I guess we will see what really is enough.

4 responses to “What is Enough?

  1. I ask this of myself all the time, especially when I’m trying to shove clean clothes in overly full drawers! My kids all like to wear their “favorites” and have many clothing items they barely or never wear. I would love to try this sometime!

  2. Carolynn says:

    I like to pare down occasionally and put all the clothes that I love, but don’t wear, in a box in the attic. As clothes wear out and need to be replaced instead of spending money in the stores I go into my attic and shop from my box. While I’m at it I see if there are any clothes in it I don’t like anymore, or don’t fit. Those go to charity. Any money I save means less hubby has to earn which equals more time with him! 🙂

  3. Michele P says:

    Getting rid of stuff at our house too! It is amazing how much stuff we can accumulate without even realizing it, huh! Next stop for us, clothes and books! Thanks for the motivation!

Leave a Reply

Eclectic Lamb

Somewhat Healthy Cute Vegetarian Lunches

Frugally Sustainable

A Resource for All Things Frugal and Sustainable

