mylittleplaceinspace

Project Simplicity…Saying Goodbye to an Unwanted Appliance

on February 21, 2013

Of all of the places in the kitchen I get clutter, the pantry is the worst. It seems that I keep putting more stuff in without taking anything out. For example, when I bring canned food out of the basement the empty mason jar goes in the pantry. The jars had built up pretty bad so I moved most of the jars down to the basement again. That cleared up a lot of room but the jars were not the only thing taking up space. The microwave oven took about half a shelf, which is more space than I was willing to give it. So, I decided to get rid of it.

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

Yep, I decided to get rid of my microwave oven! I have wanted tolet it go since last spring but decided that maybe that was too crazy. I thought I would miss the convenience.  So I kept the microwave oven for almost  year before deciding that I just couldn’t let it take up space anymore. But first I thought about what I used the microwave oven for and this is what I came up with, reheating leftovers, melting butter, and sometimes defrosting meat. Not too big of a list but before I really let it go I thought of how I could do these microwave things with out a microwave. So I will

 

1. Remember to take meat out the night before.

2. Melt butter or coconut oil in a sauce pan or in an oven safe dish when the oven is preheating.

3. Heat up leftovers in the oven or on the stove top.

 

So far, so good. I let go of the microwave about a week ago and haven’t missed it one bit. This transition was easier than I thought and it clears up a lot of space. The picture below shows where the microwave used to be, now it has baking dishes.

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

For now, the microwave oven sits in the basement just in case, but I have a feeling that I won’t be needing it anymore.

TOSHIBA CAMCORDER

 

Anyone need a microwave?

8 responses to “Project Simplicity…Saying Goodbye to an Unwanted Appliance

  1. Very cool! Not only do they take up a lot of space, but they just aren’t very good for you :). I say a good decision! 🙂
    I hope you’ll consider linking up at the Saturday Round-Up, the new Blog hop at A Joyful Mother!
    http://ajoyfulmother.com/2013/02/22/saturday-round-up-a-new-blog-hop/

  2. SheMigi says:

    Every time I say I’m not going to have a microwave when I’m older (I’m about to turn 17) my mom laughs at me. But you really don’t need a microwave, I just want a toaster oven like one of my teachers has. It works.

  3. We tried to get rid of our microwaive… my inlaws bought us a new one! When I tried to explain why we got rid of it they looked at me like I was an alien. SO It is un plugged until they come and visit. I love the idea of moving it elsewhere. Thanks for sharing on Natural Living Monday! I hope you can join us again this week.

  4. foodaddictionrecovery says:

    I have been microwave free for two months now and couldn’t be happier

  5. For what it’s worth I haven’t even noticed it was missing and I’m know that I’m at least partially the reason it lasted so long.

  6. Deanna says:

    We quit using our microwave a few years ago (- t’s a built-in over the stove with the vent kind – I can’t rip it down without going into some type of renovation. We just using the toaster oven for the smaller daily things (it’s larger toaster oven). I heat up the big oven on the weekends. I broke down and used the microwave this morning to reheat my oatmeal as I was in a time crunch and needed to get out the door – and all I could think of is what those “waves” were doing to my perfectly good stone cut oats!! YUCK. I ate it anyway…better than breaking down at work and eating a ton of candy.

Leave a Reply

Eclectic Lamb

Somewhat Healthy Cute Vegetarian Lunches

Frugally Sustainable

A Resource for All Things Frugal and Sustainable

